about steering committee

Steering Committee

mdehn steering committee ruth berlin

Ruth Berlin

Ruth Berlin is the Founder and Executive Director of the Maryland Pesticide Network (MPN) the Maryland Pesticide Education Network. Founded in 1994, Maryland Pesticide Network (MPN) is a coalition of 25 organizations that has been the driving force behind efforts to significantly reduce the use and impact of pesticides on Maryland residents, wildlife, our food supply and the Bay. Its non-profit sister organization, the Maryland Pesticide Education Network (MPEN), was launched in 2014 and oversees projects previously conducted under MPN.

MPEN’s Pesticides and the Chesapeake Bay Watershed project, co-sponsored with Johns Hopkins Center for a Livable Future, aims to reduce occurrence and impact of pesticides in the Bay. MPEN’s Integrated Pest Management in Health Care Facilities and Community Outreach Project, co-sponsored with Beyond Pesticides, works to eliminate reliance on pesticides in health care facilities and in underserved communities. The Smart on Pesticides Campaign, a coalition of 66 organizations and businesses promotes needed policies and laws to reduce adverse pesticide impacts on our ‘Babies, Bees and the Bay’.

mdehn steering committee veronika carella

Veronika Carella

Veronika Carella is Legislative Director for the Maryland Children’s Environmental Health Coalition (MD CEHC). Since 2008 she has served on the state-mandated Children’s Environmental Health and Protection Advisory Council (CEHPAC). In addition to past roles with the Maryland and National PTA, she serves on state and national committees addressing environmental issues impacting children including school indoor air quality and exposure to hazardous materials (including pesticides).

mdehn steering committee karin russ

Karin Russ, RN, MS

Karin Russ is a faculty member in the Community & Public Health Department at the University of Maryland School of Nursing, overseeing lecture and clinical components of undergraduate education in public health and health promotion at the Shady Grove campus. Ms. Russ also serves as National Coordinator of the Fertility and Reproductive Health Working Group for the Collaborative on Health and the Environment. In that capacity, Ms. Russ works with researchers, health professionals, advocates and members of the public interested in how environmental factors affect reproduction.

Ms. Russ works on environmental health policy at the state level as chair of the Maryland Nurses Association’s Environmental Health Committee and steering committee member for the Maryland Environmental Health Network. Ms. Russ’ nursing practice has included diverse experiences in labor and delivery, women’s health, epidemiology, and research administration. Ms. Russ holds a Master’s degree in Health Service Leadership and Management, and post-masters specialty certificates in Teaching in Nursing and Environmental Health Nursing from the University of Maryland.

mdehn steering committee patricia tracey

Patricia J. Tracey

Patricia Tracey has been a Community Engagement Coordinator, with the Johns Hopkins Center in Urban Environmental Health since 2003. Formerly, she managed community-based research projects in East Baltimore that related to Environmental Justice issues such as lead poisoning, demolition and air pollution. She is a founding a member of the Environmental Justice Partnership, Inc., a community-based organization of leaders who educate residents and advocate for environmental justice. She is a member of the Johns Hopkins Community Research Advisory Council (C-RAC), Greater Baltimore Asthma Alliance, and served as an Associate Editor on the editorial board of the journal, Progress in Community Health Partnerships: Research, Education, and Action.


Ann Bristow, Ph. D

Ann Bristow is Professor Emeritus of psychology from Frostburg State University (1987-2007). She has been a lifelong health advocate, working with public health departments, providing science-based educational programs, consulting in clinical services, and supervising graduate interns. Dr. Bristow served on the Maryland Marcellus Shale Advisory Commission from 2013 to 2015, and is President of the Board of the Savage River Watershed Association.  She is a founding member of Concerned Health Professionals of Maryland. At Frostburg State, she developed and taught health psychology courses and chaired the AIDS Alliance of Allegany County for many years. She is committed to utilizing the latest health research to help the general public and practitioners participate in policy decisions and promote evidence-based practices.